Japanese Kanji Flashcards Volume 1


Recently, I recieved my Japanese Kanji Flashcards Volume 1 in the mail for the JLPT 4 that I’m sitting at the end of the year.

Kanji Flashcards 1
You get 284 cards for both the JLPT 4 and the JLPT 3.

Kanji Pic2

To fit all those cards in they had to make the 3 stacks pretty big.

Kanji Pic3

Very proffesional looking. They have stroke order, similiar kanji and words  and even on the back are the literal meanings. (They’re also laminated!)

Kanji Pic4

I really recommend this if you’re studying for the JLPT 4 or JLPT 3.

You can by the them at…

Have fun studying!

10 Comments

Filed under Language, Resources

10 responses to “Japanese Kanji Flashcards Volume 1

  1. tictaek

    I’ve heard many things about this flashcards and how much they help you learn. Looks like a might have to fork out the money and buy a set when I plan on going for JLPT #x. (x refers to the uncertainty of which level to take).

    Thanks for the photos. I’m really glad to hear that they are laminated.

  2. Not bad to use on the go, but I use my iPhone when I’m not at home which works well enough 🙂 I did think about getting these before I got the iPhone though.

  3. I know that millions of people love them, but I’ve never been a fan of flash cards, simply due to the fact that having one kanji per card means that there is absolutely no opportunity for contextual learning, and it has been proven time and time again, in many, many languages, that if words/kanji/signs are learnt out of context, then it is much harder to place them when seeing them in context, i.e. in a book, or a newspaper, or a conversation.

    I understand that it’s great to feel that you can recognise the kanji 覚 for example, but it doesn’t mean a great deal until you either conjugate it, i.e 覚えます, or place it with other kanji, i.e. 知覚.

    There is of course the argument that if you know each kanji’s base meaning, then when you see them together, you can have a better guess at the overall word presented to you, but still, there is no replacement for contextual learning and learning them in compounds from the outset.

    I know it’s not as instant in its approach (especially in this technological world in which we live), but I have used the Kodansha Kanji Learner’s Dictionary all throughout my learning of Japanese (in fact I’m on my fifth copy now as it keeps falling to pieces!) as it provides each kanji (with its base meaning) and then runs off an entire list of compounds within which that kanji appears, meaning that you begin to pick up complete words, rather than just independents.

    There’s also the app for iPhone, simply called ‘Japanese’, which is an absolute god send sometimes, and when they get the update launched, will cover off many learning needs in one single app.

    Also, although it’s a great idea to get down your basics in any language, try not to learn everything in JLPT 4 and then 3, 2 and finally 1 (or 5 through 1 from next year). The reason I say this is that you will disregard elements of higher levels thinking that they are beyond you, or not important to your learning at your particular stage, when in fact keeping extraneous words etc. in mind would only reinforce and strengthen your overall learning.

    So there’s my two penneth, anywho!

  4. i have hiragana and katakana flash cards. I really should get around to learning more kanji -_-

  5. hoolan

    I love flashcards but I prefer to keep them digital just because it is easier although I have been thinking about getting some physical ones for on the go.

  6. I love the iPhone version as well, if only because you can practice writing the specific kanji directly on the screen — a necessary step for me to have any chance of remembering it.

  7. カエル

    Hi,
    Any feed back on these things? I’ve contemplated buying them but the free stuff online just discourages me, but maybe actual physical cards can help as well. How was your experience with it?

    http://fukuokadreaming.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

