Moving Things Are Naturally Cheaper In Japan

Kappa Sushi

This months Matsuri topic is “Best Frugal Tips For Living Here In Japan” so I’m going to give it a go with my newbie knowledge of Japan. OK, so we all love sushi right? But when living in Australia, good sushi is a pretty hard to come by dish. We barely have any authentic sushi restaurants and because it’s harder to get supplies in Australia it’s very expensive. In Japan you would assume it’s much cheaper, but I recently found an even more cheaper way of receiving sushi in Japan that’s bound to get you practising using your chopsticks and saying your “いただきます”.

They are conveyer belt, 100 yen sushi shops (OK they’re actually 105 yen with sales tax, but you get the point). I don’t how it works but some sushi shops in Japan are offering a full plates of sushi for just 100 yen each, to get that idea into your head I’ve gone to a currency converter and found out that 100 yen is equal to….

1.02575 USD

0.723018 EUR

0.614730 GBP

1.10919 CAD

1.22675 AUD

Apparently they’re pretty popular so if your living in Japan you would probably know them but for those who are thinking of going and have never heard of them than hopefully this is pretty useful when you get there and want to get something to eat with only a few hundred yen. Some well known places I’ve found while searching are Kappa Sushi and Otaru Zushi, Enjoy.

If you disagree with this post, agree with it or are just bored please leave a comment. Specifically other readers and I would love to hear of other great, cheap places to get food in Japan.

14 Comments

Filed under Society, Tips

14 responses to “Moving Things Are Naturally Cheaper In Japan

  1. SushiRo is also a popular 100 yen sushi shop, usually packed with pensioners on pension day, so it must be worth it!

    I can’t remember the name of it off the top of my head, but there is also a 100 yen sushi place that uses no preservatives, and cuts down on staff by asking you to drop the plates in to a hole in the table that not only calculates your bill but rinses them on the way back to the kitchen. Now that’s (self)service!

  2. It’s eye-opening to learn that sushi is hard to come by in Australia. I live in Manchester, which is only the third biggest city in the UK and we’ve got at least ten sushi places that I can think of off the top of my head.

    Good post though, and good advice for anybody wanting to keep down costs in Japan. Problem for me though is that I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to sushi so I find it hard to pass up on the really lovely ones when I’m there…

    • headingforjapan

      Oh in Australia of course there’s sushi shops every 20 metres, but I’m sick of seeing teriyaki chicken, fried prawn, california rolls and vegitarian at about $2.50 per roll. I want authentic sushi, and real sushi only has fish.

      Also apparently the sushi at these shops are all very high quality, so stop being a snob and start getting hungry for all types of the best food in the world!

      • Jon

        I mentioned this elsewhere but kappa maki, kanpyo maki, natto maki, and tamago maki are just a few examples of non-fish authentic sushi.

        And while these places aren’t bad, they are not high quality. The prices range from ~80 to ~350 per dish (depending on what you get). Going to a real sushi place will cost you ~500 to ~3000 a plate or more.

  3. The generic Japanese name for these places is called 回転寿司(かいてんずし). Having spent several weeks in the Osaka area, I went to plenty of them.
    By the way the 100 yen per plate gets you two pieces of sushi (as seen in the picture), not a “roll” (which I believe is usually 6 pieces of sushi? – I haven’t been to many sushi places here in America to know).
    But keep in mind, not all places have 100 yen sushi. Also, sometimes there are other plates that are more expensive, but the menus will tell you. One place I went to had a special tuna (maguro) for 500 yen a plate.
    I’m not sure how prevalent these places are outside of the Osaka area, but in the Osaka area there were quite a few.
    Personally my favorite sushi to get was the Salmon Onion (Onion Salmon? I forget the order).
    But anyways, I would recommend going to one if you get the chance – just because it’s fun and the sushi isn’t that bad either (in my opinion).

  4. Pingback: Moving Things Are Naturally Cheaper « Heading For Japan | Sushi Restaurants

  5. Man if I can get a decent plate of sushi like that for $1, I’ll be eating sushi everyday! The cheapest here in Sydney is $2.50/plate, and that’s on student discount. Normal price usually ranges from as “low” as $2.80 to $7.00 (for Sashimi plates)

  6. Yeah, the Kaitenzushi places are nice, but the quality often leaves a bit to be desired…

    Still, it’s kinda fun and a nice way to have a few beers and stack up plates… Do realize though that you’re going to stack up about 20 plates, but that’s still cheap.

    On the note of “Not having real sushi in your country,” having come from America, I often frequented a joint run by a Japanese restauranteur/chef who had ‘escaped’ Japan. In America, he’d found that he’d had a lot more freedom to create some really wacky and wild new tastes and mixes that just wouldn’t be accepted. I actually miss the place a bit.

    In Japan, the quality is often above and beyond what you’re used to (although not so out of this realm in a Kaitenzushi place), but you’re going to find they stick to about 10 old standards.

    I miss different shops all trying wacky different methods a bit. So enjoy your home sushi shops too! They’re not crappy just cause they’re not in Japan!

  7. Mandela

    There are heaps of sushi shops in Melbourne, Australia. A lot of Japanese restaurants to. I ate raw fish sushi for the first time last week and it was dope as. cheapest Sushi I had in Melbourne was 2.20, but it was at a Chinese noodle box. T’was still nice though

    • headingforjapan

      I’ve never had raw-fish sushi, which is quite stupid being as authentic sushi in most cases have raw fish. There’s this Japanese restaurant I’ve been trying to try out, hopefully I’ll be tasting raw fish soon.

  8. I really need to try sushi, some japan fan I am

  9. Kaitenzushi is great! I like Midorizushi at Meguro Station or Magurobito in Asakusa.

  10. Pingback: August Japan Matsuri – Frugal Living in Japan | Frugalista Japan

  11. It was just on TV today that, as a result of sushi becoming so popular in foreign countries, マグロ (tuna) is becoming more and more hard to come by.
    Some sushi restaurants can’t sell any these days because it’s become too expensive.

    I hope the current “sushi boom” around the world ends soon so I can continue to enjoy inexpensive sushi here in Tokyo! 😉

Leave a Reply

